Licenses and Ratings

Grade: Determines the kinds of flying a pilot can do.

  • Student Pilot: Local solo training flights without passengers. Must be at least 16 years of age.
  • Recreational Pilot: Local, uncontrolled day flights with up to 1 passenger.
  • Private Pilot: Flights worldwide with passengers, non-profit.
  • Commercial Pilot: Paid flying allowed.
  • Airline Transport Pilot: Paid flights, can be airline captain.

Ratings: What aircraft a pilot can fly and how.

  • Category: Airplane, Glider, Rotorcraft, etc.
  • Class: Single or Multi-Engine, Land/Sea
  • Type: Classifies planes under heavy or light categories.
  • Instrument: (IFR) different for each class and type rating.